## VALDERS AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

Minutes of the regular Valders Area School Board meeting held on April 27, 2020.

Meeting was called to order by president Platten at 5:30 p.m. under WI Statute 19.83 and 19.84. Notice of the meeting, time, date and subject matter has been properly noticed. Members present were Aulik, Glaeser, Griepentrog, Otto, Platten, Sabel, and Skyberg.

The Board began the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Aulik, second by Griepentrog to adjourn into Executive Session at 5:32pm. Roll call vote, all voted yes.

President Platten reconvened the meeting into open session at 6:30 p.m.

Motion by Glaeser, second by Aulik to adopt the agenda as revised. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Glaeser, second by Aulik to approve School board resolution for the waiver of certain school board or school district requirements, including a request to waive the Instructional Hours Requirement and Educator Effectiveness Waiver for the 2019-2020 school year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, pursuant to Wis. Stat. §§ 118.38(1) and (1m). Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Glaeser, second by Sabel to nominate Platten as president.

Platten was elected president by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by Glaeser, second by Platten to nominate Glaeser as vice-president.

Glaeser was elected vice-president by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by Otto, second by Aulik to nominate Skyberg as clerk.

Skyberg was elected clerk by unanimous roll call vote.

Motion by Griepentrog, second by Skyberg to nominate Sabel as treasurer.

Sabel was elected treasurer by unanimous roll call vote.

Griepentrog was appointed auditor.

Motion by Sabel, second by Skyberg to designate Bank First National – Valders as the Official Depository. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Aulik, second by Griepentrog to designate Valders Journal as the Official Newspaper. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Aulik, second by Glaeser to designate Beulow, Vetter, Buikema, Olson, and Vilet, as Legal Counsel. Roll call vote (7-0).

Sabel was appointed by Platten as CESA representative.

Platten volunteered to serve as the WASB Delegate.

School Board maintains the monthly meeting date as the fourth Monday of the month and the committee meeting date as the second Monday of the month.

The Learning Committee consists of Skyberg (chairperson), Otto, and Aulik.

The Infrastructure Committee consists of Sabel (chairperson), Griepentrog and Glaeser.

The Governance Committee consists of Glaeser (chairperson), Sabel and Aulik.

Motion by Aulik, second by Sabel to approve the minutes of the March 23, 2020 School Board Meeting. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Glaeser, second by Skyberg to approve voucher checks 55456 to 55460 in the amount of \$854.13, payroll checks 900079925 to 900080259 in the amount of \$366,847.93, wire transfers 201900094 to 201900108 in the amount of \$177,158.96, accounts payable ACH 19200840 to 19200899 in the amount of \$1,241,760.15 and the financial report for the month of March. Roll call vote (7-0).

The Board reviewed the staff and superintendent reports.

Motion by Glaeser, second by Skyberg to approve corporate resolution regarding the Herb Krueger Scholarship. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Glaeser, second by Otto to change last day of school during the 2020-21 school year to June 4, 2021. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Aulik, second by Skyberg to approve Music Trip 2021. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Aulik, second by Otto to approve the 2020-21 Teacher Handbook. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Glaeser, second by Sabel to approve the 2020-21 Support Staff Handbook. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Sabel, second by Skyberg to accept monetary donation from Worthington Industries/BernzOmatic to be used by the Trap Shooting Club through the FFA organization. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Griepentrog, second by Skyberg to accept resignation from Jerry Bodart as Boys Basketball JV Coach. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Skyberg, second by Otto to approve the recommendation for employment of David Schmid as High School Principal/4K-12 Director of Curriculum. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Sabel, second by Glaeser to approve the recommendation for employment for Chloe Cigler as Elementary School Teacher (1.0 FTE). Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Griepentrog, second by Aulik to approve recommendation for employment of Nicholas Stone as Middle/High School Band Director (1.0 FTE). Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Glaeser, second by Sabel to approve recommendation for employment of Amanda Pietroske as Middle/High School Math Teacher (1.0 FTE). Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Aulik, second by Glaeser to approve recommendation for employment of Tyler Martell as High School Social Studies/Spanish Teacher (1.0 FTE). Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Skyberg, second by Otto to approve the recommendation for employment of Tekele Lehman as Girls High School Soccer Varsity Coach. Roll call vote (7-0).

Motion by Aulik, second by Glaeser to adjourn at 7:55. Roll call vote (7-0).

Respectfully submitted,

Angela Erdmann Recording Secretary 5-14-2020 Kris Skyberg, Clerk Valders Area School District